See no colour , hear no colour , speak no colour

See no colour , hear no colour , speak no colour

This is for all the conversations that had me trying to avoid the color elephant in the middle of the room. Maybe because I was born into the new era of my country’s democracy. I guess after the freedom came, the generation born into it was supposedly supposed to be a united front as one. Right? Wrong. I like, most born post 1994 are products of opinions and matters forced on us.

One thing people forget is that humans are cruel and bitter. We seek revenge even though we preach forgiveness. We are sly and mean beings.

If I were to burn you with a cigarette on your wrist each day for a year, that’s 365 wounds, each making the hole deeper , it would hurt right? Then let’s say that the tables are turned and you are no longer being hurt and you are given a cigarette to do the same to me. Then halfway through the year, we are both told to stop hurting each other.
From your point of view I still hurt you more to the point that I even scarred you whereas I got hurt and scarred as well but not as much as you.
That’s how some people see apartheid. So people from all sides still hold grudges.  Theses are passed on to the following generations.  While I as much as I would love to get into discussion of people having to moving on (note the sarcasm ) I think that it would be more important to myself as a nearly 17 year old to ask them to just stop thrusting their views and what’s right and wrong in racial matters to us. YES WE HAVE DEMOCRACY BUT OUR GENERATION IS A PRISONER OF THOSE BEFORE US.  The snide comments and actions that they expose to us is not right. Not everyone is rasict but the younger they get the less they are.

How much racism could I have experienced? A lot. Not just towards myself but to the people around me. I don’t know how I am supposed to respond to my closest friend being called a product of mix breeding.
Just because those who came before her weren’t of the same ethinic group. She’s beautiful, I know it hurts her but she holds her tongue.

Or for me to walk past with friends who aren’t of my ethinic group and have people in my own culture gossip and throw racial slurs at them and me(for supposedly thinking that I am better than them by hanging out with them) in my language knowing that I would understand them.
Yes racism is everywhere in the world. A 9 year old me knew what racism was, she saw it in the parking lot. When she was shouted at with racial degrading words when she passed a pickup truck occupied by a man in his then 40’s.

We are a rainbow nation of black and blues bruised hearts.
My generation is crying out for an escape. We do not want our grandparents or even realtives views to stop us from love .
Oh sweet love. I see interracial relationships everyday. It fills me with a sweet warmth knowing that they are overcoming our norms. I pray for them to overcome all obstacles in that lay ahead for them in our country,  our world.

People know about the Klan and the overt racism, but the killing of one’s soul little by little, day after day, is a lot worse than someone coming in your house and lynching you. Samuel L. Jackson

I know I can’t very well expect everyone to be non racists overnight.  However I wish we can reach a point where it is no longer hurting us all.  Or hindering other peoples opportunities.
I know only how to love. Love can conquer all.

I leave you with this

“Once upon a time there was two girls,” I say. “one girl had black skin, one girl had white.”
Mae Mobley look up at me. She was listening.
“Little colored girl say to little white girl, ‘How come your skin be so pale?’ White girl say, ‘I don’t know. How come your skin be so black? What you think that mean?’
“But neither one them little girls knew. So little white girl say, ‘Well, let’s see. You got hair, I got hair.'”I gives Mae Mobley a little tousle on her head.
“Little colored girl say ‘I got a nose, you got a nose.'”I gives her little snout a tweak. She got to reach up and do the same to me.
“Little white girl say, ‘I got toes, you got toes.’ And I do the little thing with her toes, but she can’t get to mine cause I got my white work shoes on.
“‘So we’s the same. Just a different color’, say that little colored girl. The little white girl she agreed and they was friends. The End.”
Baby Girl just look at me. Lawd, that was a sorry story if I ever heard one. Wasn’t even no plot to it. But Mae Mobley, she smile and say, “Tell it again.” 
― Kathryn Stockett, The Help

Light from Lita
See you soon

One thought on “See no colour , hear no colour , speak no colour

Leave a Reply

